OUT resurrected


Many of you (okay, maybe ten of you) have asked me when  I’m going to finish OUT, my parallel/perpendicular novel. I’ve been pretty stuck about it for a while, but just yesterday spent a long, quiet day alone (thanks to neighbors who graciously took Noel for the day) and had a breakthrough of sorts regarding the book. Here is the new beginning, and I welcome any comments:

All I wanted was to love her.

It was a little thing. Don’t most people want that, want love? For this I live with planks of dirty wood etched with days counted down, the cold breath of November night creeping in through the rattling windows, iron bars casting shadows on the bare wood floor from a moon just out of reach.

She’s here, somewhere, in this compound. I hear bits of gossip sometimes. Scraps of disjointed information are traded like precious gems in the currency of whispers, words traced into dust with trembling fingers, the occasional triumph of stubby pencil on toilet paper. Carmen is here.

I say her name in my head like a prayer. I used to pray to God, but that was before all of this. I used to sit in my father’s church and stare at the angels on the ceiling, hoping for a blessing or a direction, or even a good old-fashioned smiting, just something to let me know I’m noticed. And I was a good boy.

Until Carmen. Until the lighting of a single candle…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 18:26:58

    YES! Keep going!

    Reply

  2. Clarence Hammick
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 23:04:25

    Hurray! I can’t wait. I was hoping to get one for myself and a few as gifts for some friends i had told them about the book and they are very interested. lol i was about to ask you about this too haha.

    Reply

  3. Rebecca
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 03:57:47

    I like the new piece……………..keep writing! Keep getting quite days to yourself. Take a Spa Day……contact my new masseuse Angel 619-459-5660 for $39 she will change your body, your attitude and your world. HAVEN Body Therapy
    3900 5th Ave Ste 250, San Diego, CA 92103. Tell her Rebecca sent you and your first massage is really only $39. She is great!!!

    Reply

  4. Jon (0h..you know who!)
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 12:35:35

    Je like!

    Reply

  5. Alicia Allen
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 02:27:10

    I like it… Keep writing it, I want to see how it ends…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

