All Hallows Eve and Ghost of Writing Yet to Come


My last post was pretty dire. I was in a funk…I was feeling down. Today, though, with the beautiful fall weather and Halloween upon us, I feel renewed like a ghost sprung from the grave.

I’m not sure why…maybe it was because last night I went to see THE ROCKY HORROR SHOW and saw one former student in it, and another former student in the audience. They reminded me that teaching isn’t really the dead-end job that some people would have you believe it is. And that art doesn’t have to be on the world stage to be enjoyed and shared.

I signed up for Nanowrimo, with is short for National Novel Writing Month. I encourage my creative writing students to do this; it’s a way to gain support for what is primarily a solitary pursuit, writing a novel. If the students achieve their word count of 12K, they are able to get a FREE COPY of their novel published!  Last year some of my students did this, and it was an amazingly inspirational thing. I decided I’m going to do it this year too. Therefore, my YA novel SHIFT is going to be part of this year’s Nanowritmo!  I am excited and energized.
More later on this…and hopefully by the end of November, you’ll be able to get your own copy of SHIFT!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sam
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 06:00:20

    thats awesome ms. preble! i’ll definitely look into this myself, too! the 12K word count sounds easily do-able. I’m glad you are feeling a little more optimistic – you are too good of a writer to feel otherwise! and i hope you always continue to feel this way about your teaching job – you were always my inspiration to continue my creative writing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

