EEEEEEbooks


One of the best books ever, probably not read by dead squirrel soldiers rising from their acorn-shaped coffins.

I don’t know how I feel about E-books. Every time I go into a Barnes and Noble I want to hiss at the person in the cheery display stand hawking the Nook, and when I see someone reading on a Kindle I want to splash orange juice on it. I realize this hostility probably stems from pre-menopausal hormones that amplify my irrelevance in a waxed-shaved-dermablasted female world, and post-youth frustration at my own obsolescence. But I still want to spill orange juice on the damn things.

Why? Maybe it’s because I have such great memories of cuddling up with a book on a rainy day, or lovingly re-reading a page or two and then skipping back to the beginning to recall a detail, and you can’t do that with a Kindle. Or maybe it’s the organic connection of my skin to the wood pulp; two organic substances commingling to create a synergy of imagination. I can’t commingle with an electronic device, at least not in public. Pixels just don’t seem real to me , which is odd since this very minute I’m writing an online blog through my Macbook.

What gets me, I think, is the impermanence of pixels. I know people say that once something’s on the internet, it’s there forever, but if the apocalypse reigned down fiery hell from above, I don’t think an iPad would work. I’m pretty sure an iPhone would be kaput. My Macbook probably wouldn’t even boot up, at least after the battery wore down. But if the lights went out, and the grid went down, and we’re all huddled in the dark next to a fire, I could still pull out my paper copy of FAHRENHEIT 451 and read it, without any electronic assistance. Does this make me a doomsday fatalist? It’s possible. I come from Irish stock, and we tend to see the glass as half empty (mostly because we’re hoping for a refill.) I admit to having a somewhat negative outlook on life. I don’t think the apocalypse is really going to happen tomorrow, or even in 2012, although the end of LOST was probably a sign of impending doom, and the rise of the Tea Party kind of reminds me of a legion of righteous dead squirrel soldiers gnawing their way out of their acorn-shaped graves.

But geez. I do love a good book.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jon (0h..you know who!)
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 04:07:31

    Ok..before you go hatin’….I LOVE “F. 451” An excellent, excellent book. But I have to admit, I LOVE my Kindle (or..as I call it..my Ken Doll). Why? It’s because I can carry a whole frickin’ liberry around in a lightweight package..and no trees were killed!
    And you are right…it’s very difficult to highlight or dog-ear a particularly great sentence or paragraph. But to be honest…a great sentence or paragraph in modern literature is rare these days.(‘cept for your books, my dear) So, when I see you in December, my Ken Doll will be safely tucked away in my hotel room. I’ll drink the orange juice…with 3 oz of Vodka thank you very much!

    Reply

  2. Stacey
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 14:23:40

    Agreed. But I think cranberry juice wd make a bigger statement than orange juice. :-p
    Let’s try and see!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

